Morning or Afternoon Tea, Super Easy, Sweet

Nutty Nutella Cookies

I read a series of books by an author called Debora Geary. It’s a series that nominally deals with communities of witches, and are among the lightest and most enjoyable reading I have on my virtual shelf.

What draws me to these books is not setting fires with a click of fingers or any excuse to continue my Harry Potter book obsession (because I clearly don’t need a reason). For a series of books that profess to be light reading, Debora Geary offers an unusually grown-up and kind look at relationships and responsibilities. More than anything, I love the camaraderie, the compassion and the community. The characters on her pages are the people I want to be when I grow up.

All of this heartwarming writing is backed up by a large offerings of food. Seafood linguine, ice-cream by the ton, and lots & lots of cookies. But of all the food gorged on her pages, the one that always calls to me the most is Nutella Cookies.

I’ve written before about the affinity I have for baking biscuits (as they’re called in Australia and England), something about minimal ingredients that all have room to speak their flavours and support each other. The fact that they respond best to gentle treatment and don’t ask too much of any cook. They seem to me to be the quiet kids I always have a soft spot for, who ask for little and offer so much in return.

A short while ago, I was cruising on the pages of Sneaky Pudding’s blog – which is one of the things I like to do on a regular basis, and I noticed with absolute glee that she has a recipe for Nutella Cookies. O.h. m.y. g.o.d…….

While trying to hold back my suspicion of a baker who doesn’t include Nutella as a part of her daily diet I tried making them and immediately fell in love. I’ve played around with the recipe a bit, the original is a little too sweet for me (although if you have a sweeter tooth, ignore my recipe and quickly shoot over to her) so here I exchanged the choc chips for salted peanuts. Other than that there are only very small differences.

  • 1 cup Nutella
  • ½ cup plain flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup roasted and salted peanuts, roughly chopped
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste

Preheat oven to 180˚C/350˚F

Line a large baking tray with baking paper

Mix Nutella, egg, and vanilla in a large mixing bowl

Sift in flour, and stir until just combined – try not to over-stir as the biscuits become very chewy if over-worked (unless that’s your thing, in which case by all means break out the electric whisk!)

Stir in the nuts

Roll spoonfuls of the dough into 12 balls and place on the prepared tray

Bake for about 12 to 15 minutes or until slightly cracked on top

Transfer the cookies on the baking paper to a cooling rack to cool completely

Store in an airtight container

Standard

4 thoughts on “Nutty Nutella Cookies

  1. psyren says:

    A Nutella recipe! This made me smile hugely, remembering your comment about spooning it from the jar while gaming. I’ll definitely be baking this one for my son for Christmas!

    Like

Leave a Reply

